The California Safely Surrendered Baby Law

Under the California Safely Surrendered Baby Law (SSB), a parent or a person with lawful custody can safely surrender a baby confidentially and without fear of prosecution within 72 hours of birth. The SSB law requires the baby to be taken to a public or a private hospital, designated fire station or other safe-surrender site. No questions will be asked. The law provides a safe alternative to desperate mothers who are unwilling or unable to keep their babies.

Babies who are safely surrendered at a hospital are given medical treatment and placed in a foster home or a preadoptive home. At the time of the surrender, a bracelet is placed on the baby for identification purposes and a matching bracelet is provided to the parent or the lawful guardian, in case the baby is reclaimed.

A parent or a person with lawful custody has up to 14 days from the time of surrender to reclaim a baby.

Posted in Safe Haven Law.

Leave a Reply